New Board of Trustees Member Elected

At its January 2013 meeting, the Board of Trustees of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History elected Betsey Hamilton of New Albany as its newest member. Upon approval by the state senate, Hamilton will assume the seat vacated by Rosemary Taylor Williams of Corinth, who retired after twenty years of service on the board. Williams will be named Trustee Emerita for her dedication and committed service to the department.

Betsey Hamilton_003“Rosemary Williams has been an inspiration to me for many years and I sincerely appreciate her service,” said Hamilton. “I am honored to be chosen to serve as a trustee of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History.”

Hamilton is a founding member of the Union County Historical Society and Heritage Museum and is a member of the museum’s board of directors. She is the former chair of the Federation of Mississippi Historical Societies.

Hamilton currently chairs the GM&O Rails to Trails Recreational District of North Mississippi, which is overseeing the development of a 44-mile stretch of abandoned railway as a multi-use trail that will run through Chickasaw, Pontotoc and Union counties. A graduate of the University of Mississippi, Hamilton is a former English teacher and real estate broker.

“Betsey Hamilton brings a strong record of project management to the board,” said board president Kane Ditto. “Her firsthand experience with historic preservation initiatives and regional museums will serve the department well.”

Board members serve six-year terms. Members of the board are Kane Ditto, president; E. Jackson Garner, vice president; Reuben V. Anderson, Jackson; Nancy Carpenter, Columbus; Valencia Hall, Natchez; Web Heidelberg, Hattiesburg; Hilda Cope Povall, Cleveland; and Roland Weeks, Biloxi.

MDAH News Releases

Site Map Contact Us