New Round for Certified Local Government Grant Program Begins

Grants are available for a broad range of preservation projects through MDAH’s Certified Local Government Grant Program. The sixty-five CLG communities across the state are eligible for annual matching grants to undertake preservation projects of importance to the community. Recent projects that received funding include repairs to the Durant Depot in Holmes County, a survey and a National Register Historic District nomination of the Medgar Evers Neighborhood Historic District in Hinds County, and the rehabilitation of the Polk Meat’s Market building in downtown Woodville.

The application for the 2013 round of CLG grants is available online at or The Notice of Intent deadline is Friday, November 9, and the grant application deadline is Friday, March 1, 2013.

“The Notice of Intent gives communities the opportunity to receive feedback, assistance, and expertise from MDAH,” said Vicki Meyers, CLG Grant Administrator. “We hope our comments will help applicants focus their project before going too far in the process.”

Grants may be used for such diverse projects as the restoration of historic buildings; historical, architectural, or archaeological site inventory work; preparation of nominations to the National Register of Historic Places; educational programs; and staff support for new historic preservation commissions.

Funding for the grants comes from the Historic Preservation Fund, a federal grants program appropriated by the U.S. Congress and administered by the National Park Service, which provides financial support to State Historic Preservation Offices—in Mississippi the Historic Preservation Division of MDAH.

To become a CLG, a community must adopt a preservation ordinance establishing a preservation commission in accordance with federal and state guidelines. Once the commission has been established, application for CLG status may be made to the National Park Service through the Department of Archives and History. MDAH works closely with local government officials and citizens to help them create and manage a workable local historic preservation program.

The sixty-five CLG communities in Mississippi are Aberdeen, Amory, Baldwyn, Biloxi, Blue Mountain, Brandon, Canton, Carrollton, Carthage, Centreville, Claiborne County, Clarksdale, Cleveland, Columbia, Columbus, Como, Corinth, Durant, Eupora, Friars Point, Gautier, Greenville-Washington County, Greenwood, Grenada, Hattiesburg, Hazlehurst, Hernando, Holly Springs, Indianola, Jackson, Kosciusko, Laurel, Leland, Lexington, Louisville, Magnolia, McComb, Meridian, Moss Point, Mound Bayou, Natchez, Newton, Ocean Springs, Osyka, Oxford, Pascagoula, Philadelphia, Port Gibson, Quitman, Raymond, Ripley, Sardis, Senatobia, Sharkey County, Starkville, Summit, Tunica, Tupelo, Vaiden, Vicksburg, West, West Point, Winona, Woodville, Yazoo City.

To learn more about the CLG program, see the MDAH Web site, For more information about the CLG grant program, contact CLG Grant Administrator Vicki Myers at 601-576-6953 or

MDAH News Releases

Site Map Contact Us