MHS Meeting Theme “War of 1812”

The Yazoo County Historical Society received the MHS 2011 Frank E. Everett Award for its outstanding contributions to the preservation and interpretation of Mississippi history. MHS awards committee chair William Parrish (left) presented the award to YCHS secretary-treasurer Sue Patterson, vice president John E. Ellzey, and president Bettye Crout.

The 2012 meeting of the Mississippi Historical Society will be held March 1–3 in Columbus on the campus of Mississippi University for Women. The theme of the meeting will be the bicentennial of the War of 1812, and presentations will examine the battle for the southern frontier, Mississippi’s American Indians, the Natchez Trace, and local history projects.

A public reception at the historic Greek Revival townhouse Whitehall will begin the meeting on Thursday, March 1 at 5 p.m. On Friday evening, March 2, author Robert V. Haynes will give the banquet address, “‘Some Dark Mysterious Business’: Aaron Burr in Mississippi Territory” Haynes’ book The Mississippi Territory and the Southwest Frontier, 1795-1817 won the society’s McLemore Prize for book of the year in 2010. The work traces the development and expansion of the Mississippi Territory through the political and diplomatic events of the times, including the arrest of the traitor Aaron Burr and the bloody Creek War. Haynes, a retired professor of history at Western Kentucky University, lives in Bowling Green.

At the March 2 luncheon Daniel P. Jordan will present “Our History Matters.” A native Mississippian, Jordan is president emeritus of the Thomas Jefferson Foundation, the nonprofit organization that owns and operates Monticello, the home of Thomas Jefferson. His publications include Political Leadership in Jefferson’s Virginia (University of Virginia Press), A Richmond Reader (University of North Carolina Press), and Tobacco Merchant: The Story of Universal Leaf Tobacco Company (University Press of Kentucky). Jordan is a partner in Bryan & Jordan Consulting, LLC in Richmond, Virginia.

Nancy Carpenter, executive director of the Columbus-Lowndes Convention and Visitors Bureau, will lead a double-decker bus tour of historic downtown Columbus. Winners of the McLemore Prize, the Bettersworth Award for outstanding history teacher, and other awards will be announced on March 3 at the awards luncheon. The B.L.C. Wailes Award will be presented at the banquet on March 2.

Registration for the annual meeting is $35 for MHS members and $60 for non-members. Additional costs are $23 for the March 2 luncheon, $43 for the March 2 banquet dinner, and $23 for the March 3 awards brunch. Reservations for the Friday luncheon and banquet and Saturday awards brunch should be made by February 27. Call 601-576-6849 or email for more information.

Rooms are reserved at the Fairfield Inn and Suites, 2011 Sixth Street North in Columbus, 662-241-1990, until February 15, 2012; when making reservations, be sure to specify the MHS rate of $84 plus tax per night.

The Mississippi Historical Society thanks its sponsors for their generous support: Dixie Butler, Joe and Carolyn Fant, Gene and Leigh Imes, Stephen D. Lee Foundation, Dick and Jo Anne Leike, the Columbus/Lowndes County Convention and Visitors Bureau, the Columbus & Lowndes County Historical Society, and the University of Southern Mississippi Foundation.

Click here to download the registration form.



3–5 p.m.—Registration, Fairfield Inn and Suites, 2011 Sixth Street North, Columbus

5–6:30 p.m.—Welcoming Reception, Whitehall, 607 Third Street South, Columbus

Sponsored by the Columbus/Lowndes County Convention and Visitors Bureau


8–10 a.m.—Registration, Parkinson Hall, Mississippi University for Women

The Friday luncheon and banquet and all presentations will take place in Parkinson Hall on the MUW campus unless otherwise noted.

9 a.m.—Battle for the Southern Frontier: The War of 1812 in the Mississippi Territory, Clay Williams, director, Old Capitol Museum, and J. Michael Bunn, executive director, Historic Chattahoochee Commission

10:30 a.m.—Mississippi’s American Indians and the War of 1812, James F. Barnett, Jr., director, MDAH Historic Properties Division

11:15 a.m.—Zachariah McGirt and the Creek Indian War, Charles Lowery, professor emeritus, Mississippi State University, and Sara Bradford Lowery, Starkville

12 noon, LUNCHEON

Our History Matters, Daniel P. Jordan, president emeritus, Thomas Jefferson Foundation

1:30 p.m.—The Natchez Trace and the War of 1812, Tony L. Turnbow, president, Natchez Trace Parkway Association

2:15 p.m.—The Bicentennial of the War of 1812: Living History for All Mississippians, Daniel Kimes, northern district ranger, Natchez Trace Parkway, National Park Service

3–5 p.m.—Double-decker Bus Tour of Columbus led by Nancy Carpenter, executive director, Columbus/Lowndes Convention Center and Visitors Bureau

6 p.m.—President’s Reception, Puckett House. Sponsored by the University of Southern Mississippi Foundation

7 p.m., BANQUET

Presiding: Aubrey K. Lucas, president

Presentation of Awards

Some Dark Mysterious Business”:  Aaron Burr in Mississippi Territory, Robert V. Haynes, professor emeritus, Western Kentucky University


8 a.m.—Annual Business Meeting, Parkinson Hall

9:15 a.m.—Returning Is Such Sweet Sorrow: Mississippi Soldiers and Civilians Transition from War to Peace, Rebecca Zimmer, University of Southern Mississippi

10 a.m.—Undergraduate Student Research Panel, Charles M. Yarborough, Mississippi School for Mathematics & Science, moderator

10:45 a.m.—Deep Roots and Wide Branches:  MUW’s Influential Role in the History of Women’s Education, Bridget Smith Pieschel, MUW

11:15 a.m.—Columbus and Lowndes County Historical Society: Preserving Local History, Lillian Wade, president

12 noon—Awards Brunch, Pope Banquet Room, Hogarth Dining Center

MDAH News Releases

Site Map Contact Us