Heritage of Mississippi Series

The Heritage of Mississippi Series, published jointly by MDAH, the Mississippi Historical Society, and the University Press of Mississippi, will cover the history of Mississippi in fifteen volumes projected to be completed by 2017—the bicentennial of Mississippi’s statehood.

Five volumes in the series have been published—Art in Mississippi: 1720–1980 by Patti Carr Black; Religion in Mississippi by Randy J. Sparks; Rednecks, Redeemers, and Race: Mississippi after Reconstruction, 1877–1917 by Stephen Cresswell, Mississippi and the Civil War: The Home Front by Timothy B. Smith, and The Civil War in Mississippi: Major Campaigns and Battles by Michael B. Ballard. The sixth volume, Mississippi’s American Indians by James F. Barnett, Jr., is scheduled for publication in 2012. To order volumes from the series, contact the Mississippi History Store by email or at 601-576-6921.

Recently commissioned volumes include Reconstruction in Mississippi by Jere Nash and William C. Harris, and Frontier Mississippi, 1798-1840 by James Michael Bunn and Clay Williams.

The Heritage of Mississippi Series is aimed at a broad audience of scholars, teachers, students, and interested general readers. The works are meant to stand as the definitive studies on the topics for years to come. MDAH and the Mississippi Historical Society invite proposals for the remaining titles: Colonial Mississippi; From Bondage to Freedom: Slavery in Mississippi, 1719–1865; From Frontier to Secession: Mississippi, 1840–1861; From Hope to Heartbreak: Mississippians in the Age of Jim Crow; The Struggle for Civil Rights; and Mississippi’s Cultural Heritage: Literature.

Interested historians should send vita and prospectus for a volume in the series. An honorarium of $10,000 is paid to authors for completed and accepted manuscripts. Send proposals to Board of Editors, Heritage of Mississippi Series, P.O. Box 571, Jackson, MS 39205-0571. For more information contact MDAH by email or call 601-576-6998.

Members of the board of editors of the Heritage of Mississippi Series are Chairman William F. Winter, Vice-chair John F. Marszalek, Dernoral Davis, Elbert R. Hilliard, H.T. Holmes, Peggy W. Jeanes, William K. Scarborough, Charles Reagan Wilson, and Christine Wilson.


Publications Home

Disclaimer, Copyright, and Privacy Statement