Skip to content

slider_webster-courthouseAt its regular quarterly meeting in Jackson on October 25, the Board of Trustees of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History awarded a grant of $500,000 for the Webster County Courthouse. The board also approved three new Mississippi Landmark designations and eight new State Historical Markers.

Built in 1915 the Webster County Courthouse was one of architect N.W. Overstreet’s first designs in Mississippi. On January 17, 2013, an early morning fire severely damaged the Neo-Classical structure. A $500,000 Community Heritage Preservation Grant will fund the stabilization of the building’s walls and reconstruction of the roof.

 Mississippi Landmark designation was approved for First Christian Church, Monroe County; Antioch Colored School, Tippah County; and the Leland Main Street Bridge in Washington County. Mississippi Landmark designation is the highest form of recognition given to properties by the state and offers the fullest protection against changes that might alter a site’s historic character.

 State Historical Markers were approved for Shubuta United Methodist Church, Clarke County; Kamper Park Pavilion, Forrest County; Bishop Charles H. Mason, Holmes County; Dr. Arenia C. Mallory, Holmes County; Camp Jefferson Davis, Jackson County; Laurel City Hall, Jones County; New Sight Consolidated School, Lincoln County; and Mississippi Normal Institute, Pontotoc County. The state historical marker program identifies and interprets important historic sites across the state.

 Members of the board of trustees are Kane Ditto, president; E. Jackson Garner, vice presdient; Reuben V. Anderson, Jackson; Nancy Carpenter, Columbus; Valencia Hall, Natchez; Betsey Hamilton, New Albany; Web Heidelberg, Hattiesburg; Hilda Cope Povall, Cleveland; and Roland Weeks, Biloxi.

 The Mississippi Department of Archives and History is the second-oldest state department of archives and history in the United States. The department collects, preserves, and provides access to the archival resources of the state, administers museums and historic sites, and oversees statewide programs for historic preservation, state and local government records management, and publications. The department is headquartered in the state-of-the-art William F. Winter Archives and History Building, located on the corner of North and Amite Streets in downtown Jackson. For more information call 601-576-6850 or see the MDAH Web site,

View All News Releases