Skip to content

The 2016 McLemore Prize will be awarded to the author of the most distinguished scholarly book on a topic in Mississippi history or biography published in 2015.

The McLemore Prize memorializes Richard A. McLemore, former president of the Mississippi Historical Society and former director of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History, and his wife, Nannie Pitts McLemore, also a former president of the Society.

Submit four copies of the book by November 2, 2015, to:

McLemore Prize Committee
Mississippi Historical Society
P. O. Box 571
Jackson, MS  39205-0571

The physical address is William F. Winter Archives and History Building, 200 North Street, Jackson, MS  39201.  The prize winner will be notified before the annual meeting of the Mississippi Historical Society, which will be held March 3-5, 2016, in Jackson.

Only works published in 2015 are eligible. Page-proof copies may be submitted only for books that will be published between November 1 and December 31, 2015.  Works should be well researched in a scholarly manner that includes footnotes and bibliography.  Works of original scholarship will be given preference over edited works.