Mississippi State Archives

Mississippi State Archives Reading RoomAt Mississippi's state archives, researchers will find a bright, open library with three search rooms and a staff of professional historians and librarians ready to assist with questions about the political, military, religious, social, economic, and cultural history of the state. The archives offers centuries’ worth of resources for the public to research Mississippi subjects and people, free of charge. The collections span the days of prehistory and Native Americans to the Civil War, the Civil Rights era, and beyond. The catalog is searchable online, and some collections are available in the Digital Archives.

More about the online catalog

A librarian assists visitors with their queries.First-time visitors should bring a photo ID, necessary for a researcher card. The state archives is located in the William F. Winter Archives and History Building in downtown Jackson. The Winter Building is closed on official state holidays and for occasional Saturday events. Out-of-town visitors are advised to call ahead (601-576-6876) before traveling to the archives on a Saturday.

2013 Reading Room Closures

Saturday, February 11—Dixie National Parade
Monday, Feburary 20—President's Day
Saturday, March 16—St. Paddy's Day Parade
Monday, April 29—Confederate Memorial Day
Monday, May 27—Memorial Day
Thursday, July 4—Independence Day
Monday, September 2—Labor Day
Saturday, October 19—Jackson State Homecoming Parade
Monday, November 11—Veterans Day
Friday, November 21-22—Thanksgiving Holiday
Saturday, December 7—Christmas Parade
Tuesday, December 24—Christmas holiday
Wednesday, December 25—Christmas Holiday
Monday, December 30—New Years holiday
Tuesday, December 31—New Years holiday

**Denotes Tentative Closures

Reading Room Hours
Monday 9 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Tuesday – Friday 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Saturday 8 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

*Media Room closes at 4:30 on weekdays and 12:30 on Saturday

More about visiting the archives

For those unable to travel to the archives, many basic questions can be answered by research requests.

More about research requests

Site Map Contact Us